Shortly after the year 700 Saint Willibrord ordered the first church was under the transverse nave built. Remains of the 21 m long Merovingian construction had been discovered after the 2nd World War. A second church, built around 800, had about the same size as today. After the fire in 1016, the new building was completed in 1031. The main feature of the Roman Basilica was the alternation of supports, who later took imitation in the Rhineland. 1794 was the looting of the Basilica instead by French revolutionary troops; the basilica is the ceramic factory. After 1861, the Willibrordus-Building Association is seeking to restore it in neo-Gothic and neo-Romanesque style. In the 2nd World War, the basilica was destroyed during the Rundstedt Offensive (1944); the reconstruction took place in the years 1945 to 1953. The crypt is likely to go back to the Carolingian period; the fresco paintings were made in the 14th century. Directly to the basilica are the Abbey buildings.
This is built on top of a Roman system. In the Merovingian times, this had the small convent which had been the Abbess Irmina from Oeren near Trier gave the monk Willibrord in 698. In the 10th u. 12th century. The church was expanded u. Provided with 3 ships, which were then in 1480 enhanced by a Gothic vault. The vault paintings created in the late Gothic period. In the following years there were several modifications.
In the heart of the medieval town of Echternach, which was founded in 698, stands on the large paved square in the shadow of the imposing Basilica of the cultural, tourist and convention center Trifolion, which was inaugurated in April 2008 and an exemplary infrastructure for the organization of Events offers a contemporary context.
The Trifolion is ideal for concerts, events, conferences and seminars. A unique immersive architectural contrast from now characterizes the townscape of the resort Echternach, which is the gateway to the Little Switzerland and Müllerthal simultaneously.